Saturday, March 13, 2010

Buddy Tate & Claude Hopkins - "Buddy and Claude" (1999)

Former big band players gather here for two easygoing but still swinging sessions held in 1960. Anchored by saxophonist Buddy Tate and pianist Claude Hopkins, the seasoned group of musicians run though standards and gems pulled from various jazz forms of their time. Originally released as two separate albums on the Swingville label, the long out of print records were unearthed by Prestige and combined for this 1999 release. -- Chris Baginski

1. "Is It So?" (4:18)
2. "Yes, Indeed" (6:57)
3. "What's Your Story Morning Glory" (3:23)
4. "Willow Wee for Me" (7:17)
5. "Empty Bed Blues" (6:23)
6. "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)" (5:30)
7. "What Is This Thing Called Love?" (4:24)
8. "Buddy's Tate-A-Tate" (4:09)
9. "Groun' Hog" (8:11)
10. "All Too Soon" (4:12)
11. "Snatchin' It Back" (5:34)
12. "# 20 Ladbroke Square" (6:15)
13. "Take the 'A' Train" (7:02)

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Willie Nelson - "Willie and Family Live" (1978)

Willie once said, “The biggest killer on this planet is stress" which might explain why he only really does two things, play music and golf. Well that and smoke a lot of pot. This laid back credo has kept the American Icon sharp witted and out there recording and touring for nearly half a century. His career has spanned numerous record labels, even more music genres, he's played with everyone from Johnny Cash to Snoop Dogg and on top of being a musician he's also a author, poet, outlaw, actor and activist. Here in 1978 Willie finds himself in beautiful Lake Tahoe with his extended touring family band bringing rowdy Texas barroom fun to the larger concert setting. Stream some of the highlights below and get out there on the road and see him live yourself! -- Chris Baginski

Disc 1

1. "Whiskey River" 3:39
2. "Stay All Night (Stay a Little Longer)" 3:25
3. "Funny How Time Slips Away" 2:44
4. "Crazy" 1:48
5. "Night Life" 4:07
6. "If You've Got the Money (I've Got the Time)" 1:31
7. "Mamas Don't Let Your Babies Grow up to Be Cowboys" 3:34
8. "I Can Get Off on You" 2:09
9. "If You Could Touch Her at All" 2:59
10. "Good Hearted Woman" 2:59
11. "Redheaded Stranger Melody"
12. "Under the Double Eagle"

Disc 2

1. "Till I Gain Control Again" 5:58
2. "Bloody Mary Morning" 3:33
3. "I'm a Memory" 1:49
4. "Mr. Record Man" 2:02
5. "Hello Walls" 1:29
6. "One Day at a Time" 2:01
7. "Will the Circle Be Unbroken" 2:09
8. "Amazing Grace" 5:13
9. "Take This Job and Shove It" 3:09
10. "Uncloudy Day" 3:41
11. "The Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line" 1:28
12. "A Song for You" 2:42
13. "Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms" 1:57
14. "Georgia on My Mind" 4:08
15. "I Gotta Get Drunk" 1:22

See Willie On Tour